Mustard Rye

Over the Thanksgiving holiday, the Mr. and I were in Lexington visiting my in-laws. While we were there, we went to a fantastic deli called Giacomo’s which serves food such as one would expect in a New York deli. They go through the effort to ship in quite a few products from NY- cheesecake, pastrami, rye, sour pickles, bagels- all from familiar names like Carnegie Deli and H&H (everything you have heard about H&H is true, by the way… they are the bagel holy grail.) I LOVE a good pastrami on rye, there’s something so simple yet so fantastic about it- I could not pass it up! I have to say, I was not disappointed and since then have mulled over trying my hand at rye but I’ve been a bit intimidated. I have heard horror stories… heavy, dry, crumbly, failure to rise, experienced yeast bakers only (Did I mention I baked my first loaf of yeast bread less than two months ago? No? Well, now you know my dirty secret- I’m a yeast noob.) This was going to go badly, I just knew it.  Fortunately, nothing was farther from the truth.

I wanted to try my hand at something a bit different, rye, but with a twist. The first change was out with the caraway seeds. I’m not much of a fan of them anyway and that wasn’t the feel I was going for. No, I wanted something milder, but yet with the same rough around the edges, robust attitude I expect from rye. Hmmm… Mustard rye! That’s it! Out with the caraway, in with the brown mustard seeds and a healthy dose of spicy dijon, add in a rise that seemed to take just this side of forever (the kitchen was cold) and an impatient 40 minutes later, a steaming hot loaf of rye was cooling on my counter. This rye is a bit more subtle, much better suited for turkey and swiss and a few minutes under the broil than it is for a pastrami or corned beef.

Mustard Rye

  • 8 oz water
  • 2 T oil or butter
  • 3 T dijon mustard
  • 1 T brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 3 T brown mustard seed
  • 8 1/2 oz all-purpose flour or bread flour
  • 4 1/4 oz stone ground rye*
  • 1 1/4 t salt
  • 2 1/2 t yeast
  • 2 t rye improver**

Instructions:

Place all dry ingredients in your mixer bowl and stir lightly to combine.

Add liquids and mix with paddle to incorporate,  scrape sides and bottom of bowl to make sure all flour is incorporated.

Switch to dough hook and knead to make a smooth, but quite sticky, dough.

Transfer to an oiled bowl, cover lightly with plastic wrap then a towel and sit in warm, draft free place.

Let dough rise for one hour, it will be come puffy and swell but will not double.

Gently deflate and shape, place in an 8 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ pan, pressing dough into corners.

Cover with lightly oiled plastic wrap and towel, let rise until crowned 1″ over the edge of the pan, approximately 60-90 minutes (remember that stone ground rye is dense so it may take longer to rise.)

Preheat oven to 350 while dough is rising in the pan.

Bake for 35-40 minutes.

Turn loaf out of pan, cool on wire rack. Allow to cool completely before slicing for best texture.

*I used Hodgson Mill

**This can be purchased at King Arthur. I enjoy the subtle flavor it gives the bread, that little back note of malty sourness I love in rye.

Questions? Comments? Just stopping in to check it out? Please leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

