Chicken Enchilada Soup

WOW It’s been a while! It’s been a crazy few months filled with things like career changes for both my husband and myself as well as a move to a different state. All of that left no time for much of anything- let along blogging! With the initial chaos subsiding somewhat I wanted to share with you a new recipe! It’s delicious, simple and comes together very quickly.

This soup is surprisingly light and bright on a cold day when chili is just too heavy to suit your tastes.

Chicken Enchilada Soup

  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 25 oz low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 28 oz can medium green enchilada Sauce*
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1/4 t garlic powder
  • 1 4 oz can diced green chilies*
  • 2 14 oz cans diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 2 Cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3-4 large chicken breasts, shredded**
  • Tortilla Chips***

In a large stock or soup pot saute onions in oil 3-5 minutes or until tender.

Add chicken broth, enchilada sauce, cumin, garlic powder, chilies and tomatoes.

Stir and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to low and add sour cream, cheese, and chicken.

Stir and let simmer for 15-20 minutes or until cheese is melted through.

Top each bowl of soup with a handful of tortilla chips.

*This soup can be made completely mild by omitting the chilies and changing the choice of enchilada sauce to mild rather than medium. I do not recommend using red enchilada sauce as it can be overpowering, heavy and too sweet for this application.

**I use chicken breasts with the bones still attached but skin removed and boiled them with a little hot sauce, salt and pepper while I gathered the rest of  my ingredients. They were ready by the time the rest of my ingredients were prepared, all I had to do was shred them!

***I used homemade baked tortilla chips with a recipe I found here that was so easy and so good! I couldn’t stop eating them hot, straight off the pan. I may never buy premade tortilla chips again!

Leave a Reply

